Skip to content


February 28, 2022News

Brian Murphy, QC, the President of the New Brunswick Liberal Association has announced that following a meeting of the NBLA Board of Directors, the Co-chairs have been chosen for the New Brunswick Liberal Leadership Convention scheduled for August 6 at the Fredericton Convention Centre.


“I am pleased that Isabelle Theriault of Caraquet and Maghnus Ryan of Saint John will act as hosts for the upcoming Liberal Leadership convention. Both are passionate individuals who represent the future of our party”, said Murphy. Theriault is the MLA for Caraquet who serves as the Opposition critic for Tourism, Heritage and Culture and Women’s Equality, as well as Deputy Leader. Ryan serves as a Constituency Assistant for Saint John MP Wayne Long and as the Liberal Party Regional Director for Saint John- Rothesay.


Murphy also indicated that the Rules governing the Leadership are now available on the New Brunswick Liberal Association website at the following link:


“We are really excited with the level of interest expressed by candidates who have signaled their intentions to seek the Leadership of the party”, said Murphy.


Pursuant to the Leadership Rules, registered members will have the opportunity to vote online, by telephone or at the convention and can register their “Intent to Vote” as of March 1, 2022. Leadership Candidate Nomination Forms will also be available on March 1.


Murphy noted that there will be several activities leading up to the Leadership convention that will provide Liberals throughout the province the opportunity to meet and engage with Liberal candidates.


“Excitement is growing throughout the province about the upcoming leadership race”, said Murphy. “The people of New Brunswick deserve to have a dynamic leader who will form a government that puts their interests ahead of its own.”


Murphy confirmed that the results of the Leadership will be announced later in the day on   August 6.