Skip to content

Liberal Opposition updates

September 21, 2022News

The Leader of the New Brunswick Liberals is pleased to announce that the MLA for Moncton-Centre, Rob McKee, has been named Leader of the Official Opposition.


“I am honoured to serve in this role and I’m grateful to Susan for this opportunity” says Rob McKee, MLA Moncton-Centre and Leader of the Official Opposition. “I look forward to working with my caucus colleagues as we continue to build on the pillars of Susan’s successful leadership campaign of transparent, authentic, and empathetic leadership that truly cares.”


Along with being named Leader of the Official Opposition, Rob McKee will take on the role of Health critic.


“I have full confidence in Rob as a leader who really listens, who cares deeply, and who works extremely hard for his constituents and all New Brunswickers” says Susan Holt, Leader of the New Brunswick Liberal Party. “Over the last few years, he has worked as finance critic, as a strong mental health advocate and more. He has proven to New Brunswickers that we can get work done in the Legislative Assembly in a positive and respectful way, while still highlighting opportunities for improvement.”


Robert Gauvin will be taking on a new role within the Party. Robert will serve as the Caucus Campaign Chair and will continue to engage with Liberal members across the province.


As the Legislative Assembly reconvenes in a few weeks, changes to the caucus Leadership have also been made. Chuck Chiasson, MLA for Victoria-La Vallée, will now serve as the Caucus Chair and Francine Landry, MLA for Madawaska Les Lacs-Edmundston will serve as Whip.


“Our team at the Legislative Assembly is energized and ready to get back into House! I look forward to supporting my colleagues as they advocate for New Brunswickers as a constructive, responsible opposition” says Liberal Leader Susan Holt.



Critic portfolios

Rob McKee

Leader of the Official Opposition

Critic for Health and Wellness

Critic for the Attorney General


Guy Arseneault

Critic for Natural Resources

Critic for Aboriginal Affairs


Benoît Bourque

Critic for Social Development – Housing

Critic for Francophonie and the Official Languages Act


Chuck Chiasson

Critic for Transportation and Infrastructure


Keith Chiasson

Critic for Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Critic for Energy Development


Jean-Claude D’Amours

Critic for Economic Development and Opportunities New Brunswick

Critic for Small Business and Trade Policy

Critic for Population Growth and Immigration


Robert Gauvin

Critic for Social Development

Critic for Seniors and Long-Term Care


Daniel Guitard

Critic for the Regional Development Corporation

Critic for Service New Brunswick

Critic for Military and Rural Affairs


Denis Landry

Critic for Justice


Francine Landry

Critic for Education and Early Childhood Development


Jacques LeBlanc

Critic for Local Government and Local Governance Reform

Critic for Public Safety


René Legacy

Critic for Finance and Treasury Board


Gilles LePage

Critic for the Environment and Climate Change


Éric Mallet

Critic for Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries


Roger Melanson

Critic for the Executive Council and the Office of the Premier

Critic for Intergovernmental Affairs


Isabelle Thériault

Critic for Tourism, Heritage and Culture

Critic for Women’s Equality



In addition to the Shadow Cabinet, the caucus officers have also been updated:

– Leader: Rob McKee, MLA for Moncton-Centre

– Caucus Chair: Chuck Chiasson, MLA for Victoria-La Vallée

– Whip: Francine Landry, MLA for Madawaska-Les-Lacs-Edmundston

– House Leader: Guy Arseneault, MLA for Campbellton-Dalhousie