Skip to content

Revision of the Official Opposition Critic Portfolios

March 24, 2021News

The Interim Leader of the Official Opposition of New Brunswick has announced changes to the Opposition critic portfolios that will be held by Liberals Caucus MLAs.


Please see below the list of critic portfolios for New Brunswick’s Official Opposition. Changes are identified by an asterisk (*).


Roger Melanson

Interim Leader of the Official Opposition

Critic for the Executive Council and the Office of the Premier

Critic for Intergovernmental Affairs


Guy Arseneault

* Critic for the Regional Development Corporation

Critic for Military Affairs


Benoît Bourque

Critic for Education and Early Childhood Development

Critic for la Francophonie and Official Languages


Chuck Chiasson

*Critic for Post-Secondary Education

*Critic for Population Growth and Immigration


Keith Chiasson

Critic for Local Government and Local Governance Reform


Jean-Claude D’Amours

Critic for Health and Wellness


Robert Gauvin

*Critic for Seniors and Long-Term Care

Critic for Social Development

Critic for Rural Affairs


Daniel Guitard

Critic for Transportation and Infrastructure


Lisa Harris

Critic for Training and Labour

Critic for Aboriginal Affairs


Denis Landry

Critic for Justice


Francine Landry

Critic for Environment and Climate Change


Jacques LeBlanc

* Critic for Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries


René Legacy

*Critic for Natural Resources and Energy Development


Gilles LePage

Critic for Economic Development and Opportunities New Brunswick

Critic for Small Business and Trade Policy


Rob McKee

Critic for Finance and Treasury Board

Critic for the Attorney General


Éric Mallet

Critic for Public Safety

Critic for Service New Brunswick


Isabelle Thériault

Critic for Tourism, Heritage and Culture

Critic for Women’s Equality


The caucus officers remain the same:
– Interim Leader: Roger Melanson, MLA for Dieppe

– Deputy Leader: Isabelle Thériault, MLA for Caraquet

– Caucus Chair: Francine Landry, MLA for Madawaska Les Lacs-Edmundston

– Whip: Denis Landry, MLA for Bathurst East-Nepisiguit-Saint-Isidore

– Deputy Whip: Chuck Chiasson, MLA for Victoria-La-Vallée

– House Leader: Guy Arseneault, MLA for Campbellton-Dalhousie

– Deputy House Leader: Keith Chiasson, MLA for Tracadie-Sheila

– Chair of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts: Lisa Harris, MLA for Miramichi Bay-Neguac