Skip to content

NB Liberals announce 21 candidates ready to run in the next election

February 2, 2024News

FREDERICTON (February 2nd) – Today, the New Brunswick Liberals announced that there are currently 21 nominated candidates ready to run in the 2024 election. Six recently nominated candidates join the 15 incumbent MLAs to form the Liberal team ready to bring their vision to New Brunswickers. Susan Holt, Leader of the New Brunswick Liberal Party will host her nomination in Fredericton South-Silverwood in the coming months.

“We are feeling the momentum,” says Holt. “This incredible group of New Brunswickers spent their lives working to make our province even better and I’m honoured to have them next to me as we head into an election. It really feels like New Brunswickers are ready for change. They are ready for a government that brings them hope, one they can trust to have their backs.”

The incumbent candidates, appointed last Fall when Premier Higgs was threatening to call an election, are all sitting Members of the Legislature who have been proudly serving their communities across the province for several years. The party has also nominated six new candidates – David Hickey, Patty Borthwick, Dave Gouthro, Claire Johnson, Luke Randall, and Tanya Whitney – who will also be working hard to earn the trust of the people in their ridings when New Brunswickers head to the polls.

“The support and excitement we’re feeling as we nominate candidates across the province is incredible,” says NB Liberal Association Executive Director Hannah Fulton Johnston. “We’re seeing great crowds at our events, bringing in lots of donations, members are engaged, and we are hearing from New Brunswickers everyday that they are ready for new leadership.”

The NB Liberal Association will continue to hold nominating conventions to add more candidates to the team over the coming months. See the attached Appendix for a full list of current candidates.

A complete list of Liberal candidates nominated for the 2024 election as of February 1, 2024.

Benoît Bourque, Beausoleil-Grand Bouctouche-Kent

Chuck Chiasson, Grand Falls-Vallée-des-Rivières-Saint Quentin

Claire Johnson, Moncton South

Dave Gauthro, Albert-Riverview

David Hickey, Saint John Harbour

Éric Mallet, Shippagan-Les-Iles

Francine Landry, Madawaska Les Lacs-Edmundston

Gilles LePage, Restigouche West

Guy Arsenault, Restigouche East

Isabelle Thériault, Caraquet

Jacques LeBlanc, Shediac-Cap-Acadie

Jean-Claude D’Amours, Edmundston-Vallée-des-Rivières

Keith Chiasson, Tracadie

Luke Randall, Fredericton North

Marco LeBlanc, Belle-Baie-Belledune

Patty Borthwick, Fundy-The Isles-Saint John Lorneville

René Legacy, Bathurst

Richard Losier, Dieppe-Memramcook

Rob McKee, Moncton Centre

Robert Gauvin, Shediac Bay-Dieppe

Tanya Whitney, Fredericton York

The following four nominations to take place in the coming weeks:

February 20 – Saint John East

February 22 – Moncton East

February 28 – Carleton York

March 23 – Miramichi Bay-Neguac