Skip to content

Liberal Opposition Leader Roger Melanson announces Opposition Critic portfolios

October 5, 2020News

Fredericton (October 5, 2020) – The Interim Leader of the Official Opposition of New Brunswick has announced the Opposition critic portfolios that will be held by Liberals Caucus MLAS.


“We are fortunate to have a strong team of Liberal MLAS who will serve New Brunswickers well in raising issues of concern and holding government to account”, said Melanson. “While we will provide constructive criticism and bring positive ideas forward for discussion, there is a need to provide oversight of government, especially knowing that the Premier wants to move forward with serious reforms that will affect many New Brunswickers.”


Melanson believes the Liberal team will provide effective oversight both in the Legislative Assembly and when the Legislature is not sitting. The following are the newly announced critic positions:


Roger Melanson

Interim Leader of the Official Opposition

Critic for the Executive Council and the Office of the Premier

Critic for Intergovernmental Affairs


Guy Arseneault

Critic for Seniors and Long-Term Care

Critic for Military Affairs


Benoît Bourque

Critic for Education and Early Childhood Development,

Critic for la Francophonie and the Official Languages Act.


Chuck Chiasson

Critic for Natural Resources and Agriculture


Keith Chiasson

Critic for Local Government and Local Governance Reform



Jean-Claude D’Amours

Critic for Health and Wellness


Robert Gauvin

Critic for Social Development

Critic for Rural Affairs


Daniel Guitard

Critic for Transportation and Infrastructure


Lisa Harris

Critic for Training and Labour

Critic for Aboriginal Affairs


Denis Landry

Critic for Fisheries and Aquaculture,

Critic for Justice


Francine Landry

Critic for the Environment and Climate Change


Jacques LeBlanc

Critic for Post-Secondary Education

Critic for Population Growth and Immigration


René Legacy

Critic for the Regional Development Corporation

Critic for Energy Development


Gilles LePage

Critic for Economic Development and Opportunities New Brunswick

Critic for Small Business and Trade Policy


Rob McKee

Critic for Finance and Treasury Board

Critic for the Attorney General


Éric Mallet

Critic for Public Safety

Critic for Service New Brunswick


Isabelle Thériault

Critic for Tourism, Heritage and Culture

Critic for Women’s Equality


In addition to the Shadow Cabinet, Melanson announced the caucus officers would be as follows:

– Interim Leader: Roger Melanson, MLA for Dieppe

– Deputy Leader: Isabelle Thériault, MLA for Caraquet

– Whip: Denis Landry, MLA for Bathurst East-Nepisiguit-Saint-Isidore

– Deputy Whip: Chuck Chiasson, MLA for Victoria-La-Vallée

– House Leader: Guy Arseneault, MLA for Campbellton-Dalhousie

– Deputy House Leader: Keith Chiasson, MLA for Tracadie-Sheila