Update – February 7, 2019


As of today, the rules for the leadership convention, as determined by our Leadership Steering Committee, are available and can be viewed here. Moving forward, these rules shall govern all matters related to the selection of the next leader of our party. Prospective leadership candidates may also now officially request a Leadership Candidate Nomination Form from the NBLA. We know that Liberals are eager to become more involved in the process; more information will be coming soon about how members can vote, volunteer or attend the convention in Saint John in June!


Thank you



Update – January 26, 2019


Following a meeting of our party’s board of directors on Saturday, I can now officially confirm that our party’s next leader will be chosen at a convention on Saturday, June 22nd 2019 in Saint John. More information about the leadership convention, and how to get involved will be available in the weeks to come. This will be an exciting weekend for our party, and I’m looking forward to joining Liberals from around the province as we enter a new chapter in our history together.


Thank you,


Joel Reed
President, NBLA



Update – December 4, 2018


On December 1, 2018, the New Brunswick Liberal Association (“NBLA”) Board of Directors met and approved the appointment of a Leadership Steering Committee as contemplated by the party’s constitution. The board asked that the committee convene as soon as possible to develop a recommendation as to the timing of a leadership convention. The leadership steering committee is to report back to the board by mid-January.


The board also voted that the leadership convention is to be held in Saint John.


As was the case with the most recent leadership convention, it is expected that telephone and online voting options will be made available for those unable to travel to the convention site. Further details will be made available once the leadership steering committee meets.


The individuals appointed to the Leadership Steering Committee  by the Board of Directors are as follows:

Jean-Claude D’Amours, MLA Edmundston-Madawaska Centre
Cathy Rogers, MLA Moncton South
Chip Smith, Rothesay
Jackie Morehouse, Carleton-York
Isabelle Paulin, Tracadie-Sheila
Robert McSorley, Fredericton West-Hanwell
Joanna Nahry, Shediac-Beaubassin-Cap-Pelé
Sylvia Sargent, Miramichi
Marty Mockler, Fredericton South
Cherrie Moreault, Moncton Centre
Jim Dunlap, Fundy—The Isles—Saint John West
Kim Nash-McKinley, Fredericton-Grand Lake


Any questions regarding the leadership selection process can be directed to info@nbliberal.ca.


Thank you.