Fredericton, New Brunswick (November 16, 2018) – The official opposition shadow cabinet was announced today by Opposition Leader Brian Gallant.  The Liberal MLAs will act as advocates for policy alternatives and provide constructive criticism to the government, rather than the traditional approach of adversarial opposition.


“We heard New Brunswickers’ message on election night – they want all parties to work together,” said Gallant.  “This will not be ‘gotcha’ politics; our team will study the issues, consult the stakeholders and support the government when we should and offer constructive alternatives when we can’t.”

The policy advocate assignments are as follows:

Policy Advocate Portfolio Minister
Jacques LeBlanc Tourism, Heritage and Culture Robert Gauvin
Monique LeBlanc Francophonie Robert Gauvin
Guy Arseneault Post-Secondary Education Trevor Holder
Gerry Lowe Labour, Training and Population Growth Trevor Holder
Stephen Horsman Public Safety and Sollicitor General Carl Urquhart
Lisa Harris Social Development Dorothy Shephard
Lisa Harris Aboriginal Affairs Jake Stewart
Isabelle Thériault Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries Ross Wetmore
Cathy Rogers Service New Brunswick Sherry Wilson
Monique LeBlanc Women’s Equality Sherry Wilson
JC D’Amours Health Ted Flemming
Cathy Rogers Environment Jeff Carr
Keith Chiasson Local Government Jeff Carr
Denis Landry Transportation and Infrastructure Bill Oliver
Roger Melanson Finance / Treasury Board Ernie Steeves
Rob McKee Justice and Attorney General Andrea Anderson-Mason
Andrew Harvey Regional Development Andrea Anderson-Mason
Chuck Chiasson Education and Early Childhood Development Dominic Cardy
Benoît Bourque Energy and Resource Development Mike Holland
Brian Kenny Intergovernmental Affairs Greg Thompson
Andrew Harvey Economic Development and Small Business / Opportunities NB Mary Wilson
Stephen Horsman Military Affairs not named
Lisa Harris Miramichi Fund not named
Francine Landry Northern Fund not named
Brian Gallant Official Languages not named
Francine Landry Rural Affairs not named
Gilles LePage Seniors not named



“As a team we will continue to advocate for economic growth that benefits all New Brunswickers, the strengthening of education and childcare, and investments to address wait times to our health care system,” said Gallant.

In addition to the shadow cabinet, Gallant announced the caucus officers would be as follows:
– Leader: Brian Gallant, MLA for Shediac Bay-Dieppe
– Deputy Leader: Lisa Harris, MLA for Miramichi Bay-Neguac
– Whip: Stephen Horsman, MLA for Fredericton North
– House Leader: Guy Arseneault, MLA for Campbellton-Dalhousie

– Deputy House Leader, Roger Melanson

– Caucus Chair: JC D’Amours, MLA for Edmundston-Madawaska Centre

Previous Post
Next Post