Four Liberal MLAs will not seek re-election

September 5th, 2017

September 5th, 2017

FREDERICTON – Three of New Brunswick’s longest-serving Liberal MLAs have announced they will be retiring at the end of their current terms in September, 2018. Donald Arseneault, member for the riding of Campbellton-Dalhousie; Dr. Ed Doherty, member for the riding of Saint John Harbour; and Victor Boudreau, member for the riding of Shediac-Beaubassin-Cap-Pelé will end their careers in public service next fall. Likewise, Bertrand LeBlanc, member for the riding of Kent North, will retire after serving eight years.

Premier Brian Gallant, who is also Leader of the New Brunswick Liberal Party, commended the four men on their combined nearly 40 years in public service “I want to offer my sincere thanks to these four hard-working MLAs. They will continue to contribute to our government through caucus over the next year, but I want to take a moment to offer them best wishes in the next chapter that follows.”

Donald Arseneault was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick as the member for the riding now named Campbellton-Dalhousie in June 2003. He has served in a myriad of different roles in both Government and Opposition, most recently as Minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour, Minister responsible for Intergovernmental Affairs, Minister responsible for Official Languages and Minister responsible for the Regional Development Corporation.

“Donald has led his community through some very difficult times and has re-earned their confidence at each election, said Brian Gallant. This is a testament to how hard he has worked and how well he can communicate with people at the coffee shops and hockey arenas or with the media. His abilities have been a huge asset to the Liberal Party over the last decade.”

Victor Boudreau, currently serving as the Minister of Health, was first elected in 2004 as the member for the riding now named Shediac-Beaubassin-Cap-Pelé. Mr. Boudreau served as Minister for a number of departments from 2006 to 2010.  He then served as Interim Leader of the New Brunswick Liberal Association and Leader of the Official Opposition from 2010 to 2013.

“Victor’s list of contributions to the people of New Brunswick is a long one. He has served as Minister of many important files from Minister of Finance to Minister of Health and as the Minister Responsible for Strategic Program Review, said Brian Gallant. Of course, he has also done many things for the Liberal Party, including serving as interim leader helping rebuild and renew the party after the 2010 election.  He also was a very strong Leader of the opposition in keeping the previous government to account.  His calm and steady advice will be missed.”

Dr. Ed Doherty was first elected in 2005 as the Member of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick for Saint John Harbour. He has been an active member of the New Brunswick Liberal Association for more than 30 years, currently serving as the Minister Responsible for Service New Brunswick, Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs and Minister responsible for the Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation.

“Ed’s years of public service go back far longer than his years in politics.  As a volunteer in New Brunswick and around the world, Ed proved his compassion for his fellow human being, mentioned Gallant. For those who have come to know him, they know he is someone who wears his heart on his sleeves. He works tirelessly for the people of Saint John and New Brunswick, including a special focus for those who are impoverished. He also worked passionately over the years to advance First Nation communities.”

Bertrand LeBlanc was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick in 2010 for the riding now named Kent North. Mr. LeBlanc currently serves as the Chair of the Standing Committee on Crown Corporations.

“Bertrand LeBlanc has been a community leader for years; as an education councillor, library commissioner, and a mayor before becoming MLA in 2010.  He has been a strong voice for Kent County in our government and he will be missed”, Brian Gallant said.

The New Brunswick Liberal Association is proud of the years of service Donald Arseneault, Ed Doherty, Victor Boudreau and Bertrand LeBlanc have given to the Province of New Brunswick and we are honoured to continue to call them members.


Media Contact:

Duncan Gallant
New Brunswick Liberal Association

latest news

  • Logo

    Vacancy in the riding of Campbellton-Dalhousie

    learn more
  • Logo

    Middle class to receive more financial support for child care

    learn more

upcoming events